Skip to main content

Archie's Dark Circle Comics Ushers in a New Era of Superheroes with a Trio of Titles


Archie Comics announced they'd be relaunching their superhero characters under the imprint of Dark Circle Comics last week and now they've revealed the first three in their line-up. The Fox, The Black Hood and The Shield will all make their debut in 2015 with some heavy hitters providing the stories and artwork.


The Fox - by Mark Waid and Dean Haspiel. The fabled pulp hero is a magnet for freaks which lead to some wild adventures. All photojournalist Paul Patton, Jr. wanted to do was create some news for himself as a floppy-eared, costumed superhero but he got a lot more than he bargained for. Once a mini-series it will be now become an ongoing series. 

The Black Hood - by Duane Swierczynski and Michael Gaydos. Crime writer and Philadelphia native Swierczynski hand-picked this character of a cop turned vigilante who wears a mask to reimagine as a noir thriller set in his hometown. The gritty reboot will take a "novelistic and thoughtful approach" more akin to popular television dramas than traditional comic book fare. 

The Shield - by Adam Christopher, Chuck Wendig and Wilfredo Torres. This hero predates Captain America and is no less patriotic. A character who "has been reincarnated through American history, beginning with the Revolutionary War," and who is now a woman in the modern incarnation. She is powerful and more in the mold of traditional superheroes but she carries herself with pride, honor and integrity. 

Here's the official release:
New York, NY (July 17) – Today, Dark Circle Comics – the superhero imprint of Archie Comics – revealed that the label’s first wave of titles will include THE BLACK HOOD from writer Duane Swierczynski (Judge Dredd, X, Birds of Prey) and artist Michael Gaydos (ALIAS), THE SHIELD from writers Adam Christopher (The Burning Dark) and Chuck Wendig (Blackbirds) and artist Wilfredo Torres (The Shadow: Year One), and THE FOX from writer/artist Dean Haspiel (Billy Dogma, HBO’s Bored to Death) and scripter Mark Waid (Daredevil, Kingdom Come, founder of Thrillbent). All three series will be ongoing and launch early next year.
The new titles – overseen by Dark Circle Editor Alex Segura – will serve as ideal jumping on points for new readers – providing unique, literary and cinematic takes on the classic properties in the Dark Circle Comics library that can appeal to new and long-time fans of the characters.
“Alex and the Dark Circle Comics editorial team have done a masterful job of assembling the best talent around and matching them perfectly with the right characters,” said Archie Comics Publisher/Co-CEO Jon Goldwater. “People are going to be hooked from the first page of each of these books, and we’re so excited to finally showcase these amazing titles for the first time. Welcome to Dark Circle Comics, a place where comic fans can expect top-line storytelling, unique characters and a truly cinematic experience.”
“Dark Circle Comics has truly been a labor of love for the company, and it’s supremely exciting to get it out in the open for all to see,” said Archie Comics Chief Creative Officer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. “Alex has taken a thoughtful and story-based approach that we’re certain will result in critically-acclaimed comics that bring something new to the table. This isn’t about aping DC or Marvel – this is about launching Dark Circle Comics and reinvigorating some of the most classic characters in the business.”
THE SHIELD will feature art by Wilfredo Torres and storyfrom co-writers Adam Christopher and Chuck Wendig.
“I’m so proud of the teams we’ve assembled on these books, with the help of the Archie exec team and Editor Paul Kaminski,” said Dark Circle Comics Editor Alex Segura. “It’s really been a dream come true to be able to reach out to some of the most talented people I know and ask them to contribute to this amazing rebranding and publishing initiative.”
A dark crime saga in the vein of Boardwalk Empire and True Detective. A stunning and revisionist new take on the first patriotic hero. An off-the-wall adventure that meshes a DIY indie comix aesthetic with the best of superhero craftsmanship. Dark Circle Comics will present fans with a novelistic and thoughtful approach to superhero comics more akin to cable television shows like Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Justified and Fargo.
“Duane and Michael are concocting a gritty, noir crime thriller that presents the Black Hood as the true urban vigilante he was meant to be. Chuck, Adam and Wilfredo are introducing a new Shield that will stand tall as the latest and best incarnation of the character – and she’s not to be messed with. A true super hero action-adventure that brings to mind the scope and grandeur of some of the best comic books have to offer,” said Segura. “Plus, another dose of THE FOX from Haspiel and Waid, two of comicdom’s mad scientists bringing their absolute A-game to the newly-minted ongoing series. Readers are in for a treat, and I only wish they could see the art and stories come in as quickly as I do. It’s going to be a fun ride.”
Stay tuned to DarkCircleComics.com for the latest news.










Source: USA Today, Dark Circle Comics

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

REVIEW: 'Redneck' #2 by Donny Cates, Lisandro Estherren, and Dee Cunniffe

'Redneck' arrived a month ago redefining the vampire genre by not giving into convention or cliché. In fact, if you've read the first two issues, the vampire angle serves more as subtext than its selling point. It's the perfect approach to this character-driven southern fried drama that simmers with tension and intrigue.

REDNECK #2 STORY: DONNY CATES
ART/COVER: LISANDRO ESTHERREN & DEE CUNNIFFE LETTERER: JOE SABINO
RELEASE DATE: MAY 24
32 PAGES | Full Color | Mature | $3.99
★★★★☆ (4/5)
The Bowman's way of life just got upended and what was once a peaceful and secluded existence is on the verge of war. The vampires of Texas keep to themselves, raise their cattle, drink its blood and sell the meat through their BBQ joint. Seems like a brilliant front to keep them in the shadows while staking out a living. All that is threatened when one of their own is killed after a night on the town. This issues fills in the holes to what might have happened and what the hell is…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

PREVIEW: 'Project Superpowers' #1 by Rob Williams and Sergio Davila

The Project Superpowers heroes came from the past, now they have to prove their relevance in the modern world. A 21st Century threat is coming for us all. What dread secrets does The Death Defying Devil hold? The Lighthouse will rise and the Spirit of The American Flag will take on a new host. But will it be enough? Can superheroes still save the day?


Project Superpowers #1
writer: Rob Williams artist: Sergio Davila covers: Francesco Mattina (A), Ed Benes (B), John Royle (C)               Philip Tan (D), JG Jones (E) Stephen Segovia (F)               Sergio Davila (G), Philip Tan (RI-B/W)               J.G. Jones (RI-Sepia), Ed Benes (RI-Virgin)               Francesco Mattina (RI-Virgin)
FC  |  32 pages  |  $3.99  |   Teen+  












PREVIEW: 'Tet' #4 by Paul Allor and Paul Tucker

We've seen Eugene's story. But during his last day's in Vietnam, he finally learns how Ha survived the war. She's always been much stronger than him; and much stronger than he's given her credit for. With all their secrets gone, Ha and Eugene must decide how to move forward.

REVIEW: 'Death or Glory' #2 by Rick Remender and Bengal

After a raucous debut, 'Death and Glory' takes a weird turn. Like a really weird turn. Imagine David Lynch and Quentin Tarantino had a baby and out came out issue two of this new series from Rick Remender and Bengal. The question is is that a good or bad thing?


DEATH OR GLORY #2  
Writer: Rick Remender Artist: Bengal Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: June 6, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
With a botched heist job, a bullet in her side, and all her money gone, Glory wrestles with what to do next. The cargo her ex-husband was trafficking wasn't drugs but people and after putting them all safely on a bus to Arizona, she's broke and being attended to by one of the Brazilians that stayed behind. Her scheme was pretty straight-forward - rob the money that the dirty sheriff was going to transport and use it for her dad's surgery. Easy peasy. Then it all went to hell as the sheriff recognized her, she dropped the money, and now no one is happy, not the sheri…