Skip to main content

Archie's Dark Circle Comics Ushers in a New Era of Superheroes with a Trio of Titles


Archie Comics announced they'd be relaunching their superhero characters under the imprint of Dark Circle Comics last week and now they've revealed the first three in their line-up. The Fox, The Black Hood and The Shield will all make their debut in 2015 with some heavy hitters providing the stories and artwork.


The Fox - by Mark Waid and Dean Haspiel. The fabled pulp hero is a magnet for freaks which lead to some wild adventures. All photojournalist Paul Patton, Jr. wanted to do was create some news for himself as a floppy-eared, costumed superhero but he got a lot more than he bargained for. Once a mini-series it will be now become an ongoing series. 

The Black Hood - by Duane Swierczynski and Michael Gaydos. Crime writer and Philadelphia native Swierczynski hand-picked this character of a cop turned vigilante who wears a mask to reimagine as a noir thriller set in his hometown. The gritty reboot will take a "novelistic and thoughtful approach" more akin to popular television dramas than traditional comic book fare. 

The Shield - by Adam Christopher, Chuck Wendig and Wilfredo Torres. This hero predates Captain America and is no less patriotic. A character who "has been reincarnated through American history, beginning with the Revolutionary War," and who is now a woman in the modern incarnation. She is powerful and more in the mold of traditional superheroes but she carries herself with pride, honor and integrity. 

Here's the official release:
New York, NY (July 17) – Today, Dark Circle Comics – the superhero imprint of Archie Comics – revealed that the label’s first wave of titles will include THE BLACK HOOD from writer Duane Swierczynski (Judge Dredd, X, Birds of Prey) and artist Michael Gaydos (ALIAS), THE SHIELD from writers Adam Christopher (The Burning Dark) and Chuck Wendig (Blackbirds) and artist Wilfredo Torres (The Shadow: Year One), and THE FOX from writer/artist Dean Haspiel (Billy Dogma, HBO’s Bored to Death) and scripter Mark Waid (Daredevil, Kingdom Come, founder of Thrillbent). All three series will be ongoing and launch early next year.
The new titles – overseen by Dark Circle Editor Alex Segura – will serve as ideal jumping on points for new readers – providing unique, literary and cinematic takes on the classic properties in the Dark Circle Comics library that can appeal to new and long-time fans of the characters.
“Alex and the Dark Circle Comics editorial team have done a masterful job of assembling the best talent around and matching them perfectly with the right characters,” said Archie Comics Publisher/Co-CEO Jon Goldwater. “People are going to be hooked from the first page of each of these books, and we’re so excited to finally showcase these amazing titles for the first time. Welcome to Dark Circle Comics, a place where comic fans can expect top-line storytelling, unique characters and a truly cinematic experience.”
“Dark Circle Comics has truly been a labor of love for the company, and it’s supremely exciting to get it out in the open for all to see,” said Archie Comics Chief Creative Officer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. “Alex has taken a thoughtful and story-based approach that we’re certain will result in critically-acclaimed comics that bring something new to the table. This isn’t about aping DC or Marvel – this is about launching Dark Circle Comics and reinvigorating some of the most classic characters in the business.”
THE SHIELD will feature art by Wilfredo Torres and storyfrom co-writers Adam Christopher and Chuck Wendig.
“I’m so proud of the teams we’ve assembled on these books, with the help of the Archie exec team and Editor Paul Kaminski,” said Dark Circle Comics Editor Alex Segura. “It’s really been a dream come true to be able to reach out to some of the most talented people I know and ask them to contribute to this amazing rebranding and publishing initiative.”
A dark crime saga in the vein of Boardwalk Empire and True Detective. A stunning and revisionist new take on the first patriotic hero. An off-the-wall adventure that meshes a DIY indie comix aesthetic with the best of superhero craftsmanship. Dark Circle Comics will present fans with a novelistic and thoughtful approach to superhero comics more akin to cable television shows like Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Justified and Fargo.
“Duane and Michael are concocting a gritty, noir crime thriller that presents the Black Hood as the true urban vigilante he was meant to be. Chuck, Adam and Wilfredo are introducing a new Shield that will stand tall as the latest and best incarnation of the character – and she’s not to be messed with. A true super hero action-adventure that brings to mind the scope and grandeur of some of the best comic books have to offer,” said Segura. “Plus, another dose of THE FOX from Haspiel and Waid, two of comicdom’s mad scientists bringing their absolute A-game to the newly-minted ongoing series. Readers are in for a treat, and I only wish they could see the art and stories come in as quickly as I do. It’s going to be a fun ride.”
Stay tuned to DarkCircleComics.com for the latest news.










Source: USA Today, Dark Circle Comics

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Best Comics of 2017

It's that time of year again. What comics site is complete without an obligatory "Best of 2017" list? No doubt it's been a crazy year in so many ways and the comic book industry is no different. But instead of concentrating on the scandals and controversies all that matters is the fruit of so many talented peoples' labor who've produced some amazing stories. These are just some of the best independent comics of 2017.


DISCLAIMER: [Editor's Note] Spartantown relies on the generosity of independent comic book publishers to provide review copies in order to post reviews. Thanks to companies like Image Comics, Valiant Entertainment, Archie Comics, Dynamite Comics, Black Mask Studios, Action Lab, and occasionally others, I've had access to some wonderful stories that otherwise I would have missed. I don't get review copies from mainstream publishers like DC Comics and Marvel so this "Best of..." list is far from comprehensive but a good sample …

REVIEW: 'Port of Earth' #3 by Zack Kaplan, Andrea Mutti, and Vladimir Popov

The hunt continues for a deadly rogue alien accused of killing a human. ESA agents Rice and McIntyre abide by different rules which make this pursuit a tense, precarious affair. A city on shut-down, a cop with a hair-trigger, and a showdown that could alter intergalactic diplomacy forever.


PORT OF EARTH #3 
Writer: Zack Kaplan Artist: Andrea Mutti Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: January 10, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
'Port of Earth' continues to evolve from a savvy sci-fi premise to a thrilling cop drama to a thought-provoking commentary on American worker displacement and the otherness of aliens as an allegory for immigrants. It's not heavy-handed mind you but there are layers to Zack Kaplan's story. When you consider the seismic change an alien technology that helps turn water into an efficient and powerful energy source would have on the planet it's inevitable that it would set off a societal chain reaction. Especially for those displaced by…

Fred Van Lente & CAFU Decode ARMSTRONG AND THE VAULT OF SPIRITS #1

Valiant announces ARMSTRONG AND THE VAULT OF SPIRITS #1 – a hard-charging, standalone special coming this winter from New York Times best-selling writer Fred Van Lente (ARCHER & ARMSTRONG, Incredible Hercules) and red-hot rising star CAFU (RAPTURE)! On February 7th, join in a riotous celebration for the ages as Armstrong, for the very first time, uncorks the ancient mysteries of his centuries past – and dares his closest comrades into the adventure of several lifetimes!

Deep beneath New York City’s seediest dive bar, Armstrong – the hard-hitting, harder-partying immortal veteran of history’s greatest escapades – is hosting an invitation-only affair for his most beloved friends and allies! Archer… Ivar, Timewalker… Faith… Quantum and Woody… And special guests from across the Valiant Universe… All have been offered a seat at the table for a personally guided tour of Armstrong’s most valuable and tightly guarded treasure… From the Great Flood to ancient Greece to the height of the C…

NYCC: Dynamite's Next 25-Cent Revival is 'Dejah Thoris' with Amy Chu

The Princess of Mars is set to return to her throne this January, as Dynamite Entertainment announces the relaunch of one of their most beloved characters, Dejah Thoris. Writer Amy Chu (Poison Ivy, Red Sonja, KISS) will bring the strong, iconic character back to the comics in the debut issue Dejah Thoris #0, which will retail for 25 cents and allow fans to join the adventure at this introductory price.


This replicates the outstanding debut of Sheena #0, which broke 120,000 sales. Retailers can confidently stock their shelves with extra copies of this red-hot new series.

This exciting prequel to Edgar Rice Burroughs' beloved book, A Princess of Mars, will delve into the untold story of the classic Red Martian princess!  After learning of the legendary Gardens of Mars from her grandfather, Dejah Thoris, Princess of Helium, sets off on a dangerous scientific expedition to save her dying planet. But things don't go the way she planned when she encounters a mysterious Green Martian…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …