Skip to main content

Archie's Dark Circle Comics Ushers in a New Era of Superheroes with a Trio of Titles


Archie Comics announced they'd be relaunching their superhero characters under the imprint of Dark Circle Comics last week and now they've revealed the first three in their line-up. The Fox, The Black Hood and The Shield will all make their debut in 2015 with some heavy hitters providing the stories and artwork.


The Fox - by Mark Waid and Dean Haspiel. The fabled pulp hero is a magnet for freaks which lead to some wild adventures. All photojournalist Paul Patton, Jr. wanted to do was create some news for himself as a floppy-eared, costumed superhero but he got a lot more than he bargained for. Once a mini-series it will be now become an ongoing series. 

The Black Hood - by Duane Swierczynski and Michael Gaydos. Crime writer and Philadelphia native Swierczynski hand-picked this character of a cop turned vigilante who wears a mask to reimagine as a noir thriller set in his hometown. The gritty reboot will take a "novelistic and thoughtful approach" more akin to popular television dramas than traditional comic book fare. 

The Shield - by Adam Christopher, Chuck Wendig and Wilfredo Torres. This hero predates Captain America and is no less patriotic. A character who "has been reincarnated through American history, beginning with the Revolutionary War," and who is now a woman in the modern incarnation. She is powerful and more in the mold of traditional superheroes but she carries herself with pride, honor and integrity. 

Here's the official release:
New York, NY (July 17) – Today, Dark Circle Comics – the superhero imprint of Archie Comics – revealed that the label’s first wave of titles will include THE BLACK HOOD from writer Duane Swierczynski (Judge Dredd, X, Birds of Prey) and artist Michael Gaydos (ALIAS), THE SHIELD from writers Adam Christopher (The Burning Dark) and Chuck Wendig (Blackbirds) and artist Wilfredo Torres (The Shadow: Year One), and THE FOX from writer/artist Dean Haspiel (Billy Dogma, HBO’s Bored to Death) and scripter Mark Waid (Daredevil, Kingdom Come, founder of Thrillbent). All three series will be ongoing and launch early next year.
The new titles – overseen by Dark Circle Editor Alex Segura – will serve as ideal jumping on points for new readers – providing unique, literary and cinematic takes on the classic properties in the Dark Circle Comics library that can appeal to new and long-time fans of the characters.
“Alex and the Dark Circle Comics editorial team have done a masterful job of assembling the best talent around and matching them perfectly with the right characters,” said Archie Comics Publisher/Co-CEO Jon Goldwater. “People are going to be hooked from the first page of each of these books, and we’re so excited to finally showcase these amazing titles for the first time. Welcome to Dark Circle Comics, a place where comic fans can expect top-line storytelling, unique characters and a truly cinematic experience.”
“Dark Circle Comics has truly been a labor of love for the company, and it’s supremely exciting to get it out in the open for all to see,” said Archie Comics Chief Creative Officer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. “Alex has taken a thoughtful and story-based approach that we’re certain will result in critically-acclaimed comics that bring something new to the table. This isn’t about aping DC or Marvel – this is about launching Dark Circle Comics and reinvigorating some of the most classic characters in the business.”
THE SHIELD will feature art by Wilfredo Torres and storyfrom co-writers Adam Christopher and Chuck Wendig.
“I’m so proud of the teams we’ve assembled on these books, with the help of the Archie exec team and Editor Paul Kaminski,” said Dark Circle Comics Editor Alex Segura. “It’s really been a dream come true to be able to reach out to some of the most talented people I know and ask them to contribute to this amazing rebranding and publishing initiative.”
A dark crime saga in the vein of Boardwalk Empire and True Detective. A stunning and revisionist new take on the first patriotic hero. An off-the-wall adventure that meshes a DIY indie comix aesthetic with the best of superhero craftsmanship. Dark Circle Comics will present fans with a novelistic and thoughtful approach to superhero comics more akin to cable television shows like Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Justified and Fargo.
“Duane and Michael are concocting a gritty, noir crime thriller that presents the Black Hood as the true urban vigilante he was meant to be. Chuck, Adam and Wilfredo are introducing a new Shield that will stand tall as the latest and best incarnation of the character – and she’s not to be messed with. A true super hero action-adventure that brings to mind the scope and grandeur of some of the best comic books have to offer,” said Segura. “Plus, another dose of THE FOX from Haspiel and Waid, two of comicdom’s mad scientists bringing their absolute A-game to the newly-minted ongoing series. Readers are in for a treat, and I only wish they could see the art and stories come in as quickly as I do. It’s going to be a fun ride.”
Stay tuned to DarkCircleComics.com for the latest news.










Source: USA Today, Dark Circle Comics

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

REVIEW: 'Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman' #6 by Andy Mangels and Judit Tondora

The series has been great fun but for fans of the original Wonder Woman TV series starring Lynda Carter and the Bionic Woman starring Lyndsey Wagner it's been a time machine to what could have been when these two iconic heroines meet.


WONDER WOMAN '77 MEETS THE BIONIC WOMAN #6  Writer: Andy Mangels Artist: Judit Tondora Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: September 20, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
 Andy Mangels and Judit Tondora have put together a sprawling crossover event that faithfully captures the tone and aesthetic of the 1970's shows. Often complicated and full of exposition, the camaraderie between Diana and Jamie is genuine and to see them in action makes the cover price worth every penny. Bringing together not only the titular heroes but incorporating their respective supporting characters like Wonder Girl and combining villains was no easy feat but Mangels and Tondora pull it off with enthusiasm and precision.
The plot to use Fembots to…

REVIEW: 'Genius: Cartel' #3 (of 5) by Marc Bernardin, Adam Freeman, and Rosi Kampe

Adam Freeman and Marc Bernardin tighten the vice around their hero Destiny when she deviates from the mission to a plan of her own. Now outgunned and trapped while trying to rescue dozens of frightened women from the cartel's sex-trade, Destiny must use her superior intellect to find a way out alive in Genius: Cartel #3.


GENIUS: CARTEL #3 (OF 5) Story: Adam Freeman, Marc Bernardin Art / Cover: Rosi Kampe Colors: Brad Simpson Letters: Troy Peteri Published: October 18, 2017 Diamond ID: AUG170655
Ignoring orders to assassinate the leader of a drug cartel, Destiny pursues her true mission—free two dozen young girls from the cartel’s sex-trade operation. With an army of mercenaries on her tail and the US border over 1,500 miles away, how will she fight her way out while protecting such fragile cargo?
Digital : $3.99 Print: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
When Destiny decides to alter the mission leaving her troops to complete the assassination of the cartel leader, she opts to lead the women a…

LONG BEACH COMIC CON Invades the Southland with William Shatner, Dave Gibbons, Cosplayers, and More

It's that time of year again when pop culture fans from all over Southern California and beyond descend on Long Beach to meet and greet some of their favorite stars from comic books, television, and movies. This year the 2017 Long Beach Comic Con offers some new exciting guests, panels, concerts, film festivals, cosplay contests, and an expansive Space Expo.


Visit downtown Long Beach on Saturday, Sept. 2 and Sunday, Sept. 3 for the annual Comic Con at the Long Beach Convention Center. This year's lineup includes legendary actor and cultural icon Star Trek's William Shatner speaking in the Main Stage room on Saturday as well as esteemed veteran comic writer and artist Dave Gibbons (Watchmen).
A con that still values comics will feature comic book vendors, artists, writers, and publishers. Approximately 100 other guests including animators, voice actors, and professional cosplayers will be participating in more than 100 entertaining and informative panels covering animation,…

REVIEW: 'Crosswind' #4 by Gail Simone and Cat Staggs

'Crosswind' #4 delves deeper into the situations that Cason and Juniper have found themselves in. The fates of both are increasingly in danger just as Cason as Juniper begins to stabilize the domestic life. Juniper as Cason has a target on his back and a deception that could cost a life before the two return to their rightful bodies.



CROSSWIND #4 Writer: Gail Simone Artist: Cat Staggs Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: September 27, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
The last issue was a satisfying chapter but things get inevitably messier. Cruz is out to get Cason for sleeping with his fiance Mika and making sure he keeps quiet about killing the idiotic son, Siggy, of the mob boss. He's got to play Mr. Randolph against Cason now and it's sure to set some deadly actions in motion. Meanwhile, back in suburbia, Cason just set Juniper's husband straight about his philandering. He needs help getting away as a woman so he enlists the help of a transgender woma…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …