Skip to main content

Action Lab Announces New Books for 2017


For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary-pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike.

Established series Princeless will return with a Spanish language translation in January, along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and Zombie Tramp creator Dan Mendoza's new ongoing monthly series, DollFace.



A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DollFace centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DollFace, which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue.

In February, multiple Eisner award winning creator Franco (Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy) brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!



A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), Peach and the Isle of Monsters is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined in a blockbuster series called Infinite Seven.



This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. Infinite Seven builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks. 

March brings the debut of Amerikarate, a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in Infinite Seven.



Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, Amerikarate celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob's Burger's lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

March also brings the return of Katie Carva in the bad-girl comic with a twist, Vampblade Season Two! 

Jason Martin's hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from Vampblade Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here. 


Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series Action Lab: Dog of Wonder, Peter David's Artful, Athena Voltaire, Hero Cats and ZAG Entertainment's Miraculous will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic Blue Hour rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series Brigands, Cougar and Cub, The Circle, Tomboy and Zombie Tramp will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

"This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab," said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. "We've positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!"

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

ADVANCE REVIEW: 'Winnebago Graveyard' #1 by Steve Niles, Alison Sampson, and Stéphane Paitreau

Steve Niles and Alison Sampson have arrived to disrupt your bedtime. What happens when an American family traveling on vacation finds themselves stranded in a small town with a sinister secret? The answer is a whole lot of creepy.


WINNEBAGO GRAVEYARD #1 (OF 4) Story: Steve Niles Art / Cover: Aditya Bidikar, Alison Sampson, Jordie Bellaire, Stéphane Paitreau Variant Cover: Mingjue Helen Chen Published: June 14, 2017 Diamond ID: APR170724 Digital : $3.99 Print: $3.99
★★★★1/2 (4.5/5)
Niles wastes no time in setting the tone of  this limited horror series 'Winnebago Graveyard.' A couple is abducted by people in hooded robes and are sacrificed during some kind of satanic ceremony that gives birth to something I can't explain here. You'll have to see it for yourselves. Then we're introduced to our protagonists, the dysfunctional family traveling via the titular Winnebago. They make the same mistake every person in a horror does, they stay at the creepiest locations instead …

REVIEW: 'Samaritan: Veritas' #1 by Matt Hawkins, Atilio Rojo, and Troy Peteri

Born out of The Tithe, 'Samaritan: Veritas,' takes on a whole new target as hacker Samantha Copeland is on the run and looking for revenge. It's a thrilling new chapter from Top Cow's Edenverse written by Matt Hawkins with art from Atilio Rojo.


SAMARITAN #1 Story: Matt Hawkins Art / Lettering / Cover: Atilio Rojo Letterer: Troy Peteri Published: May 24, 2017 Diamond ID: MAR170694 Digital : $3.99 Print: $3.99
★★★★☆ (4/5)
The Tithe found Samaritan taking on nefarious mega-churches and this time the only things more corrupt are the U.S. government and military contractors. The President is in Samantha's crosshairs but she's also a hunted woman using all her hacking skills and the resources of the dark web to counter her pursuers. It's this complex cat-and-mouse game that Hawkins unfolds while also providing Samantha's background for new readers. Hawkins does a delicate balancing act adding exposition with flashbacks while moving the story forward in the prese…

ADVANCE REVIEW: 'Secret Weapons' #1 by Eric Heisserer, Raúl Allén, and Patricia Martin

In comics, the assembling of a team of heroes is not a new concept. But what if those "heroes" had been rejected for having lame powers? Valiant addresses this question in the fantastic new mini, Secret Weapons #1, starring Amanda McKee - the technopath codenamed Livewire.


★★★★1/2 (4.5/5)
Academy Award-nominated screenwriter Eric Heisserer (Arrival) and Harvey Award-nominated artist Raúl Allén (Wrath of the Eternal Warrior) have given this band of misfits a new life under the leadership of Livewire. What could have been treated as a parody is handled with great care and love as these psiots that Toyo Harada had stashed away after drawing out their powers but considered useless have found a new purpose.It's another great entry point for new readers and a rewarding one for longtime fans of Livewire and the Unity series.

Harada stashed Nicole (can speak to birds), Martin (can make inanimate objects glow), Owen (spontaneously summons a random object at any given time) and thr…

REVIEW: 'Magnus' #1 by Kyle Higgins, Jorge Fornes, and Chris O'Halloran

Dynamite keeps reinventing classic Gold Key Comics characters and their latest iteration of Magnus, Robot Fighter, is neither a man nor a robot fighter. What 'Magnus' #1 is, it's a fascinating piece of speculative fiction from Kyle Higgins and Jorge Fornes that is smart, immersive, and thought-provoking.


Magnus #1 writer: Kyle Higgins (main story), Chuck Wendig (Turok bonus story) artist: Jorge Fornés (main story), Chris O'Halloran (main story),  Álvaro Sarraseca (Turok bonus story) letters: Taylor Esposito covers:  Giuseppe Camuncoli (a), Jorge Fornés (b),  Aaron Conley (c), Daniel Warren Johnson(d) incentive covers: Jorge Fornés (B/W art), Aaron Conley (B/W art),  Giuseppe Camuncoli (B/W art), Jorge Fornés (“virgin art”), Aaron Conley (“virgin art”) Order the cover of your choice! FC • 32 pages • $3.99 • Teen+ 
★★★★★ (5/5)
Thanks to shows like Westworld and Black Mirror, science fiction is sexy again and it's not just aliens and space travel either. Instead, the th…

NEW COMIC BOOK DAY: Notable Releases 6/21/17

This week in comics is heavy with the latest issues in on-going stories with only a couple of brand new #1s we've chosen to highlight. Crosswind #1 by Gail Simone and Cat Staggs is the book of the week. (REVIEW) The talented veteran duo delivers a lean mean thriller that is like Freaky Friday meets Goodfellas

NEW COMIC BOOK DAY 6/21/17 by Slidely Slideshow MUSIC BY SZA
The other new title is a mash-up you never imagined happening. DC Comics' Looney Tunes crossovers have been a hoot and 'Lobo/Road Runner' is no different. Wile E. Coyote travels to the far reaches of space to hire Lobo to hunt down and kill his greatest nemesis of all time, the Road Runner. Make sure to check all these other great books out this week. Happy reading!

(W) Gail Simone(A/CA) Cat Staggs Fan-favorite creators GAIL SIMONE and CAT STAGGS make their stunning Image debut with this mind-bending new ongoing series! A slick and ruthless Chicago hitman. A smart but downtrodden Seattle housewife. Wh…