Skip to main content

Action Lab Announces New Books for 2017


For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary-pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike.

Established series Princeless will return with a Spanish language translation in January, along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and Zombie Tramp creator Dan Mendoza's new ongoing monthly series, DollFace.



A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DollFace centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DollFace, which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue.

In February, multiple Eisner award winning creator Franco (Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy) brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!



A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), Peach and the Isle of Monsters is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined in a blockbuster series called Infinite Seven.



This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. Infinite Seven builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks. 

March brings the debut of Amerikarate, a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in Infinite Seven.



Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, Amerikarate celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob's Burger's lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

March also brings the return of Katie Carva in the bad-girl comic with a twist, Vampblade Season Two! 

Jason Martin's hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from Vampblade Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here. 


Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series Action Lab: Dog of Wonder, Peter David's Artful, Athena Voltaire, Hero Cats and ZAG Entertainment's Miraculous will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic Blue Hour rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series Brigands, Cougar and Cub, The Circle, Tomboy and Zombie Tramp will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

"This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab," said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. "We've positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!"

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

NEW COMIC BOOK DAY: Notable Releases 4/5/17

NEW COMIC BOOK DAY 4/5/17 by Slidely Slideshow
Happy new comic book day. On tap this week is a lot of girl power - Goldie Vance, America, Faith, Hawkeye, Jyn Erso of Rogue One, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey, Eve Harper of Courier, Motor Girl, the ladies of Giant Days, Zelda of Black Cloud, Shade the Changing Girl, and Paper Girls. See, I wasn't kidding. Check out these and much more of our recommendations plus a slideshow featuring music from Beyonce! Happy reading!



(W) Gabby Rivera (A) Joe Quinones OKAY, LADIES, NOW LET'S GET IN FORMATION!! •  America Chavez's first semester of college is off to an epic start. That's right...homework on the first day! The assignment? A field trip to the frontlines of World War II! •  Most freshman would be intimidated - but most freshman aren't dimension-hoping heroes with Captain America as their wingman!  •  Meanwhile, unexpected fallout from an Ultimates' mission begins to wreak havoc on not only America's life but also the …

'Bingo Love' Graphic Novella Offers New Gail Simone Kickstarter Stretch Goal

The Kickstarter campaign for the Inclusive Press graphic novella, Bingo Love, by Tee “Vixen” Franklin, Jenn St. Onge and Joy San was fully funded in 5 days, and now with just a week to go, is celebrating with new tiers and stretch goals. Backers of this warm-hearted romance about two Queer Black women rediscovering their love for each other after decades apart, can now receive two softcover copies of Bingo Love for a $44 pledge or donate copies to LGBTQ youth centers. 



Bingo Love is currently over 210% funded and quickly approaching $45k. Once Bingo Love reaches $60k, digital and physical backers will receive a short story, set in the Bingo Love world, written by Gail Simone (Clean Room, Batgirl, Secret Six).

"It is not exaggeration to say this [Bingo Love] is absolutely going to be a smash," said Simone. "It's one of the best comics of the year. I ADORE IT TO PIECES."

During the third week of the Kickstarter, it was announced that Tee "Vixen" Franklin…

REVIEW: 'Spencer and Locke' #1 by David Pepose, Jorge Santiago, and Jasen Smith

★★★★★ (5/5)
It takes some courage and confidence to take one of the most beloved comic strips ever and reinvent it as a dark crime noir comic. Yet, David Pepose and Jorge Santiago, Jr. find a way to honor Bill Watterson's seminal work while creating a pulpy murder mystery that stands on its own. 

'Calvin and Hobbes' follows the humorous antics of Calvin, a precocious, mischievous, and adventurous six-year-old boy, and Hobbes, his sardonic stuffed tiger. In that same vein, Spencer is a stuffed panther that Detective Locke carries with him, apparently unnoticed by others, and interacts with him as they investigate the murder of Locke's grade school love. Pepose walks a thin line between parody and drama but finds the perfect balance in tone and dialogue. The scenes with Spencer and Locke conversing are humorous but doesn't overstep the importance of the investigation. In fact, the story is dark and only lightened by Spencer's observations and the flashbacks but tho…

NEW COMIC BOOK DAY: Notable Releases 3/29/17

NEW COMIC BOOK DAY 3/29/17 by Slidely Slideshow
This week is loaded with so much comic book goodness we had to cut off the recommendations at 23. Let's start with the #1s. Vault Comics has come out strong with titles like Heathen and Fissure. Karma Police #1 byChris Lewis and Jasen Smith is the fledgling publisher's latest gem. Dynamite has Doc Savage: Ring of Fire #1, Marvel debuts X-Men Prime #1 and Inhumans Prime #1, and DC Comics has some crazy crossovers with Hanna Barbara icons like Green Lantern & Space Ghost #1.
Check out this week's trade paperbacks like Henchgirl, The Hillbilly, Black Hammer, and more. Happy Reading!



(W) Greg Rucka (A/CA) Michael Lark "Cull," Part Five Vassalovka strikes. The Beast is unchained. Forever suffers a devastating loss.

(W) Marguerite Bennett (A/CA) Ariela Kristantina As the mystery of the Parisian Monstress lures Lady and Mariah deep into the catacombs beneath the city, our heroes discover that the Medusa is not the only evil …

REVIEW: 'Karma Police' #1 by Chris Lewis, Tony Gregori, and Jasen Smith

★★★1/2 (3.5/5)
The monks of the Karma Grove Monastery try to ease spiritual suffering and promote peace, but when an evil that spans lifetimes challenges them, they’ll have to call upon their skills to liberate it from existence.

Karma Police is a unique story that positions monks as a sort of evil spirit-busters. The world is under siege and only a reincarnated Buddhist master and her elder can cleanse the world of them. A flashback sets the stage for what happens in the present. The duo is tasked with hunting down a major threat and it leads them to a strip club in Oregon, naturally. There is a certain sense of fun and quirkiness that shows Chris Lewis isn't taking it all too seriously.

The result is a colorful universe that includes a possessed toddler, luchador demons, and fiendish strippers.  There's also an enchanted dagger from her previous incarnation’s bloody past. She’ll have to resist its power and concentrate on stopping the reckless spirits from any more violence. 

Wi…