Skip to main content

Action Lab Announces New Books for 2017


For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary-pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike.

Established series Princeless will return with a Spanish language translation in January, along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and Zombie Tramp creator Dan Mendoza's new ongoing monthly series, DollFace.



A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DollFace centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DollFace, which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue.

In February, multiple Eisner award winning creator Franco (Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy) brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!



A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), Peach and the Isle of Monsters is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined in a blockbuster series called Infinite Seven.



This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. Infinite Seven builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks. 

March brings the debut of Amerikarate, a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in Infinite Seven.



Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, Amerikarate celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob's Burger's lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

March also brings the return of Katie Carva in the bad-girl comic with a twist, Vampblade Season Two! 

Jason Martin's hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from Vampblade Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here. 


Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series Action Lab: Dog of Wonder, Peter David's Artful, Athena Voltaire, Hero Cats and ZAG Entertainment's Miraculous will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic Blue Hour rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series Brigands, Cougar and Cub, The Circle, Tomboy and Zombie Tramp will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

"This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab," said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. "We've positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!"

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

DC Comics March Movie Poster Variant Covers are Fantastic

DC Comics may have outdone themselves with their running themed variant covers for the month of March 2015. After some fun and gorgeous variants in 2014 like Darwin Cooke (December), LEGO (November), and Bombshells (June) to name a few DC Comics is continuing to bring some creative covers in 2015. January will feature Flash throughout the company line in celebration of his 75th Anniversary, February will bring everyone’s favorite wild card, Harley Quinn, on DC covers, and perhaps the best mash-ups of comics and famous movie posters will arrive in March.

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

'Aberrant Season 2' Promises Twisty '80's Inspired Action When the Political Thriller Returns

A new, delightfully twisted story arc of the much-lauded political action thriller is coming to you this February!



Rylend Grant has been busy. The screenwriter – whom has previously penned poppy action fare for folks like Ridley Scott, Justin Lin, John Woo, and F. Gary Gray – spent 2018 writing movies for the likes of J.J. Abrams and Hamilton star Daveed Diggs. He also somehow managed to find the time to put together a deliciously evil five-issue sequel to his critically acclaimed comic book, ABERRANT.

“I don’t sleep much,” says Grant, whom is also raising a gleefully rambunctious two-year-old.

To add fuel to his bone-tired fire, Collider recently announced that ABERRANT is being developed for television by 24 and Felicity executive producer Tony Krantz.

“Tony is one of the smartest people working in Hollywood today,” said Grant, who will write the pilot and produce the series alongside Krantz. “He has shown a uniquely genuine passion and enthusiasm for the book. I honestly couldn’t b…

PREVIEW: 'The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers' HC by Francesco Francavilla

A series of unexpected disappearances and deaths hit Central City. Initially, these cases seem purely unrelated; no apparent connection between the victims makes it easy for the police to just file them as runaways or natural deaths. But when someone close to Ebony White disappears, The Spirit is on the case!


The iconic masked crimefighter created by legendary comic book creator Will Eisner returns in an all-new tale by Francesco Francavilla... Eisner Award winner, master of crime noir, and worthy successor to The Spirit’s legacy!
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers HC
writer: Francesco Francavilla artist: Francesco Francavilla cover: Francesco Francavilla
FC  |  128 pages  |  $19.99  |   Teen+ 












Fitness Women in Superhero Body Paint by J.M. Manion

J.M. Manion has long been a successful photographer covering the fitness and bodybuilding industry. He has photographed some of the strongest, well-defined physiques on the planet. He's also had a love of super-heroes and comic books. So much so that Manion began publishing his own comic book, Iron Siren Comics, featuring some of the fitness competitors he's covered as superheroes themselves. It's no wonder he sometimes incorporates superhero cosplay and body paint into photo shoots. Here are just some examples of his work: