Skip to main content

Action Lab Announces New Books for 2017


For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary-pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike.

Established series Princeless will return with a Spanish language translation in January, along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and Zombie Tramp creator Dan Mendoza's new ongoing monthly series, DollFace.



A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DollFace centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DollFace, which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue.

In February, multiple Eisner award winning creator Franco (Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy) brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!



A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), Peach and the Isle of Monsters is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined in a blockbuster series called Infinite Seven.



This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. Infinite Seven builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks. 

March brings the debut of Amerikarate, a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in Infinite Seven.



Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, Amerikarate celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob's Burger's lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

March also brings the return of Katie Carva in the bad-girl comic with a twist, Vampblade Season Two! 

Jason Martin's hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from Vampblade Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here. 


Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series Action Lab: Dog of Wonder, Peter David's Artful, Athena Voltaire, Hero Cats and ZAG Entertainment's Miraculous will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic Blue Hour rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series Brigands, Cougar and Cub, The Circle, Tomboy and Zombie Tramp will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

"This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab," said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. "We've positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!"

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

REVIEW: 'Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman' #6 by Andy Mangels and Judit Tondora

The series has been great fun but for fans of the original Wonder Woman TV series starring Lynda Carter and the Bionic Woman starring Lyndsey Wagner it's been a time machine to what could have been when these two iconic heroines meet.


WONDER WOMAN '77 MEETS THE BIONIC WOMAN #6  Writer: Andy Mangels Artist: Judit Tondora Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: September 20, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
 Andy Mangels and Judit Tondora have put together a sprawling crossover event that faithfully captures the tone and aesthetic of the 1970's shows. Often complicated and full of exposition, the camaraderie between Diana and Jamie is genuine and to see them in action makes the cover price worth every penny. Bringing together not only the titular heroes but incorporating their respective supporting characters like Wonder Girl and combining villains was no easy feat but Mangels and Tondora pull it off with enthusiasm and precision.
The plot to use Fembots to…

LONG BEACH COMIC CON Invades the Southland with William Shatner, Dave Gibbons, Cosplayers, and More

It's that time of year again when pop culture fans from all over Southern California and beyond descend on Long Beach to meet and greet some of their favorite stars from comic books, television, and movies. This year the 2017 Long Beach Comic Con offers some new exciting guests, panels, concerts, film festivals, cosplay contests, and an expansive Space Expo.


Visit downtown Long Beach on Saturday, Sept. 2 and Sunday, Sept. 3 for the annual Comic Con at the Long Beach Convention Center. This year's lineup includes legendary actor and cultural icon Star Trek's William Shatner speaking in the Main Stage room on Saturday as well as esteemed veteran comic writer and artist Dave Gibbons (Watchmen).
A con that still values comics will feature comic book vendors, artists, writers, and publishers. Approximately 100 other guests including animators, voice actors, and professional cosplayers will be participating in more than 100 entertaining and informative panels covering animation,…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

REVIEW: 'Crosswind' #4 by Gail Simone and Cat Staggs

'Crosswind' #4 delves deeper into the situations that Cason and Juniper have found themselves in. The fates of both are increasingly in danger just as Cason as Juniper begins to stabilize the domestic life. Juniper as Cason has a target on his back and a deception that could cost a life before the two return to their rightful bodies.



CROSSWIND #4 Writer: Gail Simone Artist: Cat Staggs Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: September 27, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
The last issue was a satisfying chapter but things get inevitably messier. Cruz is out to get Cason for sleeping with his fiance Mika and making sure he keeps quiet about killing the idiotic son, Siggy, of the mob boss. He's got to play Mr. Randolph against Cason now and it's sure to set some deadly actions in motion. Meanwhile, back in suburbia, Cason just set Juniper's husband straight about his philandering. He needs help getting away as a woman so he enlists the help of a transgender woma…

Fitness Women in Superhero Body Paint by J.M. Manion

J.M. Manion has long been a successful photographer covering the fitness and bodybuilding industry. He has photographed some of the strongest, well-defined physiques on the planet. He's also had a love of super-heroes and comic books. So much so that Manion began publishing his own comic book, Iron Siren Comics, featuring some of the fitness competitors he's covered as superheroes themselves. It's no wonder he sometimes incorporates superhero cosplay and body paint into photo shoots. Here are just some examples of his work: