Skip to main content

ALTERNA COMICS: Newsprint Makes a Comeback as Initial Print Runs Sell Out



AMAZING AGE #1, ADAM WRECK #1, CROAK #1, AND LILITH DARK #1 have all sold out at the distributor level before even hitting store shelves.  Despite ordering a 25% larger print run, a surge in demand for the debut titles of Alterna's newsprint line (sporting cover prices of $1.50 each) have yielded sold out print runs across the board.

Alterna will be going back to press pending demand from retailers once the books hit shelves on May 3rd.

Alterna also has four other titles currently in Diamond's April Previews catalog, for release in June.  MOTHER RUSSIA #1, TRESPASSER #1, and SCRIMSHAW #1 will all sport $1.50 cover prices -- and THE CHAIR #1 will be priced at $1.00.  These titles will all be printed on newsprint with a semi-gloss cover stock and most will be in full color.  With the exception of the SCRIMSHAW series, all other titles are a mini-series of 3 to 5 issues.

Only On comiXology:



THE FEAR DIARIES #2
$1.99; Digital Comic Book; All Ages
(W) Garrett Gunn
(A) Nicolas Touris
(L) HdE

When we are young, our parents tell us that there is nothing that goes bump in the night. The terrifying monsters that live in our bedrooms are apparently just "figments of our imagination." Our eyes playing tricks on us. They tell us that the Boogeyman doesn't exist. That there is nothing under our beds or lurking in the shadows of our closets. There's only one problem. They Lied.

THE FEAR DIARIES #2 only on comiXology >>


Pre-Order @ Your Local Comic Shop >>



MOTHER RUSSIA #1 of 3 - (W/A) Jeff McComsey
Great for fans of Resident Evil, Enemy at the Gates, 28 Days Later

One baby. One rifle. Two million zombies! As a zombie apocalypse breaks out in WWII, a Soviet sniper risks her life to protect an innocent baby boy. Created by New York Times-bestselling author and artist Jeff McComsey. Now on newsprint!

($1.50; 32pgs; BW; APR171234; June 14th)
This is the divider 



SCRIMSHAW #1 - (W) Eric Borden (A) Dave Mims (L) Spike O'Laochdha
Great for fans of X-Men, Rat Queens, Suicide Squad

With the planet ravaged by war, ruthless corporations have the world's governments in their pockets. Faced with impossible odds, Captain Hans Tanaka and the rest of the crew of the Runaway Horse have been branded as pirates, cut-throats, mercs... and the good guys! Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR171235; June 28th)



THE CHAIR #1 of 4 - (W/L) Peter Simeti (A) Kevin Christensen
Great for fans of Arkham Asylum, Memento, Shutter Island

Richard Sullivan has spent ten years on death row for a crime he claims he never committed. But lately, inmates are being brutally murdered by the Warden and his guards. Will Sullivan escape before it's too late? Now a motion picture starring the legendary Roddy Piper. Printed on newsprint! 

($1.50; 32 pgs; BW; APR171236; June 21st)



TRESPASSER #1 of 4 - (W) Justin M. Ryan (A) Kristian Rossi (L) DC Hopkins
Great for fans of The Walking Dead, The X-Files, The Road

After a devastating war ruins the air and food supply for most of the world, Hector and his daughter Maria struggle to survive. But when a strange visitor crash lands in the forest, Hector will go to unspeakable lengths to protect his child. Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR1712537; June 7th)



Print this Form and Take it to Your Local Comic Shop! >>


Advertise in Alterna's Newsprint Line!

Advertise in Newsprint Comics for as low as $16 >>

**Currently looking for advertisers for August and onward**

Download Ad Templates Here!
1/4 page - $20 BW/$25 Full Color
1/3 page - $40 BW/$50 Full Color
1/2 page - $60 BW/$75 Full Color
Full page - $80 BW/$100 Full Color
Inside Back Cover - $125 Full Color
Inside Front Cover - $150 Full Color
Back Cover - $200 Full Color

Ad Creation Services
Need help creating your ad? Let us know what you'd like on it (text and imagery) and we'll create it for you! ($50 design fee)

Multi-Ad Discount
Place any combination of ads in 3 or more books and get a 10% discount on your total! Advertise in 10 or more books and get a 20% discount.



Popular posts from this blog

LONG BEACH COMIC CON Invades the Southland with William Shatner, Dave Gibbons, Cosplayers, and More

It's that time of year again when pop culture fans from all over Southern California and beyond descend on Long Beach to meet and greet some of their favorite stars from comic books, television, and movies. This year the 2017 Long Beach Comic Con offers some new exciting guests, panels, concerts, film festivals, cosplay contests, and an expansive Space Expo.


Visit downtown Long Beach on Saturday, Sept. 2 and Sunday, Sept. 3 for the annual Comic Con at the Long Beach Convention Center. This year's lineup includes legendary actor and cultural icon Star Trek's William Shatner speaking in the Main Stage room on Saturday as well as esteemed veteran comic writer and artist Dave Gibbons (Watchmen).
A con that still values comics will feature comic book vendors, artists, writers, and publishers. Approximately 100 other guests including animators, voice actors, and professional cosplayers will be participating in more than 100 entertaining and informative panels covering animation,…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

Fitness Women in Superhero Body Paint by J.M. Manion

J.M. Manion has long been a successful photographer covering the fitness and bodybuilding industry. He has photographed some of the strongest, well-defined physiques on the planet. He's also had a love of super-heroes and comic books. So much so that Manion began publishing his own comic book, Iron Siren Comics, featuring some of the fitness competitors he's covered as superheroes themselves. It's no wonder he sometimes incorporates superhero cosplay and body paint into photo shoots. Here are just some examples of his work:

PREVIEW: 'Vampblade Season Two' #6 by Jason Martin and Marco Maccagni

With the new space vampire hybrid threat, Katie must seek help from her sworn enemy… Zombie Tramp! But they also need the help of another unlikely ally… DollFace!!


This Danger Doll Squad tie-in features 3 covers (regular, artist, and 90s style), each with a risqué variant as well!
VAMPBLADE SEASON TWO #6 Writer(s): Jason Martin Artist Name(s): Marco Maccagni Cover Artist(s): Winston Young (Covers A-B), Marcelo Trom (Covers C-D),  Ben Hansen (Covers E-F) Cover A – Winston Young Main cover (unlimited) Cover B – Winston Young Risqué variant (limited to 2000) Cover C – Marcelo Trom Artist variant (limited to 1500) Cover D – Marcelo Trom Artist risqué (limited to 2000) Cover E – Ben Hansen 90s variant (limited to 1500) Cover F – Ben Hansen 90s risqué (limited to 2000)
32 pgs./ M / FC                   $4.99 














PREVIEW: 'Sheena' #1 by Marguerite Bennett, Christina Trujillo, Moritat, and Dimi Macheras

When a dangerous group of mercenaries sent by Cadwell Industries accuses her village of murdering one of their men, Sheena is forced to make a deal. To save her home, Sheena now has twenty-four hours to find the missing man alive; if she fails, the mercenaries will attack—and they take no prisoners. But Sheena is not the only one hunting for the missing man...


Sheena: Queen Of The Jungle #1
writers: Marguerite Bennett, Christina Trujillo artist: Moritat, Dimi Macheras covers: J. Scott Campbell (A)               Ryan Sook (B)               Moritat (C)               Carli Ihde (D)               Cosplay Photo Variant (E)               Moritat (RI-Virgin)               Ryan Sook (RI-B/W)               J. Scott Campbell (RI-B/W)               Ryan Sook (RI-Virgin)               J. Scott Campbell (RI-Virgin) FC  •  32 pages  •  $3.99  •   Teen +  
In Stores 09/13/2017