Skip to main content

ALTERNA COMICS: Newsprint Makes a Comeback as Initial Print Runs Sell Out



AMAZING AGE #1, ADAM WRECK #1, CROAK #1, AND LILITH DARK #1 have all sold out at the distributor level before even hitting store shelves.  Despite ordering a 25% larger print run, a surge in demand for the debut titles of Alterna's newsprint line (sporting cover prices of $1.50 each) have yielded sold out print runs across the board.

Alterna will be going back to press pending demand from retailers once the books hit shelves on May 3rd.

Alterna also has four other titles currently in Diamond's April Previews catalog, for release in June.  MOTHER RUSSIA #1, TRESPASSER #1, and SCRIMSHAW #1 will all sport $1.50 cover prices -- and THE CHAIR #1 will be priced at $1.00.  These titles will all be printed on newsprint with a semi-gloss cover stock and most will be in full color.  With the exception of the SCRIMSHAW series, all other titles are a mini-series of 3 to 5 issues.

Only On comiXology:



THE FEAR DIARIES #2
$1.99; Digital Comic Book; All Ages
(W) Garrett Gunn
(A) Nicolas Touris
(L) HdE

When we are young, our parents tell us that there is nothing that goes bump in the night. The terrifying monsters that live in our bedrooms are apparently just "figments of our imagination." Our eyes playing tricks on us. They tell us that the Boogeyman doesn't exist. That there is nothing under our beds or lurking in the shadows of our closets. There's only one problem. They Lied.

THE FEAR DIARIES #2 only on comiXology >>


Pre-Order @ Your Local Comic Shop >>



MOTHER RUSSIA #1 of 3 - (W/A) Jeff McComsey
Great for fans of Resident Evil, Enemy at the Gates, 28 Days Later

One baby. One rifle. Two million zombies! As a zombie apocalypse breaks out in WWII, a Soviet sniper risks her life to protect an innocent baby boy. Created by New York Times-bestselling author and artist Jeff McComsey. Now on newsprint!

($1.50; 32pgs; BW; APR171234; June 14th)
This is the divider 



SCRIMSHAW #1 - (W) Eric Borden (A) Dave Mims (L) Spike O'Laochdha
Great for fans of X-Men, Rat Queens, Suicide Squad

With the planet ravaged by war, ruthless corporations have the world's governments in their pockets. Faced with impossible odds, Captain Hans Tanaka and the rest of the crew of the Runaway Horse have been branded as pirates, cut-throats, mercs... and the good guys! Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR171235; June 28th)



THE CHAIR #1 of 4 - (W/L) Peter Simeti (A) Kevin Christensen
Great for fans of Arkham Asylum, Memento, Shutter Island

Richard Sullivan has spent ten years on death row for a crime he claims he never committed. But lately, inmates are being brutally murdered by the Warden and his guards. Will Sullivan escape before it's too late? Now a motion picture starring the legendary Roddy Piper. Printed on newsprint! 

($1.50; 32 pgs; BW; APR171236; June 21st)



TRESPASSER #1 of 4 - (W) Justin M. Ryan (A) Kristian Rossi (L) DC Hopkins
Great for fans of The Walking Dead, The X-Files, The Road

After a devastating war ruins the air and food supply for most of the world, Hector and his daughter Maria struggle to survive. But when a strange visitor crash lands in the forest, Hector will go to unspeakable lengths to protect his child. Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR1712537; June 7th)



Print this Form and Take it to Your Local Comic Shop! >>


Advertise in Alterna's Newsprint Line!

Advertise in Newsprint Comics for as low as $16 >>

**Currently looking for advertisers for August and onward**

Download Ad Templates Here!
1/4 page - $20 BW/$25 Full Color
1/3 page - $40 BW/$50 Full Color
1/2 page - $60 BW/$75 Full Color
Full page - $80 BW/$100 Full Color
Inside Back Cover - $125 Full Color
Inside Front Cover - $150 Full Color
Back Cover - $200 Full Color

Ad Creation Services
Need help creating your ad? Let us know what you'd like on it (text and imagery) and we'll create it for you! ($50 design fee)

Multi-Ad Discount
Place any combination of ads in 3 or more books and get a 10% discount on your total! Advertise in 10 or more books and get a 20% discount.



Popular posts from this blog

PREVIEW: 'Red Sonja & Vampirella Meet Betty & Veronica' #2 by Amy Chu and Maria Sanapo

The body count increases and the mystery deepens as Vampirella and Red Sonja investigate the deaths plaguing Riverdale High. Turns out American high school life is as mysterious and perplexing as the murders themselves! Meanwhile, Betty and Veronica have troubles of their own when they butt heads with the editor of the school newspaper over their investigative news coverage. Is there a coverup afoot?


Red Sonja & Vampirella Meet Betty & Veronica #2
writer: Amy Chu artist: Maria Sanapo covers: Fay Dalton (A), Robert Hack  (B), Laura Braga (C)              Dan Parent (D), Cat Staggs (E)               Dan Parent (RI-B/W), Laura Braga (RI-B/W),                Laura Braga (RI-Virgin), Dan Parent (RI-Virgin)
FC  |  32 pages  |  $3.99  |   Teen+  










WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

Fitness Women in Superhero Body Paint by J.M. Manion

J.M. Manion has long been a successful photographer covering the fitness and bodybuilding industry. He has photographed some of the strongest, well-defined physiques on the planet. He's also had a love of super-heroes and comic books. So much so that Manion began publishing his own comic book, Iron Siren Comics, featuring some of the fitness competitors he's covered as superheroes themselves. It's no wonder he sometimes incorporates superhero cosplay and body paint into photo shoots. Here are just some examples of his work:

Legendary Comics Releases Volume Two of 'Lost in Space: Countdown to Danger' and 'Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano'

Legendary Comics announces the release of the second seasons of popular comic series: LOST IN SPACE: COUNTDOWN TO DANGER and FIREBRAND: THE INITIATION OF NATALI PRESANO.


Launching into comic stores and online today, Volume Two of Lost in Space: Countdown to Danger tells all new thrilling backstories of the show’s favorite heroic characters, with a special focus on Parker Posey’s villainous ‘Dr. Smith’ and fan favorite ‘Robot.’ While, Season Two of Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano, created by Jessica Chobot and Erika Lewis, continues the journey of a young witch who has come to Seattle to defend humanity against darkness, now available exclusively on Webtoon. Readers can download the official Webtoon app by visiting the Apple App Store and Google Play.


LOST IN SPACE: COUNTDOWN TO DANGER:

Penned by writer Richard Dinnick (Doctor Who; Thunderbirds) and Brian Buccellato (Detective Comics; The Flash) with stunning artwork by Zid (Skull Island: Birth of Kong; Trick ‘r Treat: Days …

'Black Terror' Back in New Series from Dynamite and Max Bemis

The Nemesis of Crime is back in a new limited series by writer Max Bemis (Moon Knight, Polarity) this October!


In this series, Bob Benton aka the Black Terror, is living in the 1970s and contending with his post-war mental health as well as the rapidly evolving social landscape around him. Say Anything band frontman and acclaimed comics writer Bemis is joined by artists Matt Gaudio (John Wick, Bettie Page) and Ruairí Coleman (Cloak & Dagger, Turok). Rounding out the team on colors and letters are Brittany Pezzillo (Bettie Page, Green Hornet) and Taylor Esposito.

Each issue of the series acts as both the next chapter and a standalone deep dive into the Black Terror's life and the chaotic 1970s setting. Fans can expect to see Black Terror's infamous plain-named sidekick Tim, cult leaders, mobsters, experimental drugs and more. Bemis has described the title as a bit of an Alan Moore take, but less depressing and with some 70s Batman DNA.


Writer Max Bemis said, "I loved w…