Skip to main content

ALTERNA COMICS: Newsprint Makes a Comeback as Initial Print Runs Sell Out



AMAZING AGE #1, ADAM WRECK #1, CROAK #1, AND LILITH DARK #1 have all sold out at the distributor level before even hitting store shelves.  Despite ordering a 25% larger print run, a surge in demand for the debut titles of Alterna's newsprint line (sporting cover prices of $1.50 each) have yielded sold out print runs across the board.

Alterna will be going back to press pending demand from retailers once the books hit shelves on May 3rd.

Alterna also has four other titles currently in Diamond's April Previews catalog, for release in June.  MOTHER RUSSIA #1, TRESPASSER #1, and SCRIMSHAW #1 will all sport $1.50 cover prices -- and THE CHAIR #1 will be priced at $1.00.  These titles will all be printed on newsprint with a semi-gloss cover stock and most will be in full color.  With the exception of the SCRIMSHAW series, all other titles are a mini-series of 3 to 5 issues.

Only On comiXology:



THE FEAR DIARIES #2
$1.99; Digital Comic Book; All Ages
(W) Garrett Gunn
(A) Nicolas Touris
(L) HdE

When we are young, our parents tell us that there is nothing that goes bump in the night. The terrifying monsters that live in our bedrooms are apparently just "figments of our imagination." Our eyes playing tricks on us. They tell us that the Boogeyman doesn't exist. That there is nothing under our beds or lurking in the shadows of our closets. There's only one problem. They Lied.

THE FEAR DIARIES #2 only on comiXology >>


Pre-Order @ Your Local Comic Shop >>



MOTHER RUSSIA #1 of 3 - (W/A) Jeff McComsey
Great for fans of Resident Evil, Enemy at the Gates, 28 Days Later

One baby. One rifle. Two million zombies! As a zombie apocalypse breaks out in WWII, a Soviet sniper risks her life to protect an innocent baby boy. Created by New York Times-bestselling author and artist Jeff McComsey. Now on newsprint!

($1.50; 32pgs; BW; APR171234; June 14th)
This is the divider 



SCRIMSHAW #1 - (W) Eric Borden (A) Dave Mims (L) Spike O'Laochdha
Great for fans of X-Men, Rat Queens, Suicide Squad

With the planet ravaged by war, ruthless corporations have the world's governments in their pockets. Faced with impossible odds, Captain Hans Tanaka and the rest of the crew of the Runaway Horse have been branded as pirates, cut-throats, mercs... and the good guys! Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR171235; June 28th)



THE CHAIR #1 of 4 - (W/L) Peter Simeti (A) Kevin Christensen
Great for fans of Arkham Asylum, Memento, Shutter Island

Richard Sullivan has spent ten years on death row for a crime he claims he never committed. But lately, inmates are being brutally murdered by the Warden and his guards. Will Sullivan escape before it's too late? Now a motion picture starring the legendary Roddy Piper. Printed on newsprint! 

($1.50; 32 pgs; BW; APR171236; June 21st)



TRESPASSER #1 of 4 - (W) Justin M. Ryan (A) Kristian Rossi (L) DC Hopkins
Great for fans of The Walking Dead, The X-Files, The Road

After a devastating war ruins the air and food supply for most of the world, Hector and his daughter Maria struggle to survive. But when a strange visitor crash lands in the forest, Hector will go to unspeakable lengths to protect his child. Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR1712537; June 7th)



Print this Form and Take it to Your Local Comic Shop! >>


Advertise in Alterna's Newsprint Line!

Advertise in Newsprint Comics for as low as $16 >>

**Currently looking for advertisers for August and onward**

Download Ad Templates Here!
1/4 page - $20 BW/$25 Full Color
1/3 page - $40 BW/$50 Full Color
1/2 page - $60 BW/$75 Full Color
Full page - $80 BW/$100 Full Color
Inside Back Cover - $125 Full Color
Inside Front Cover - $150 Full Color
Back Cover - $200 Full Color

Ad Creation Services
Need help creating your ad? Let us know what you'd like on it (text and imagery) and we'll create it for you! ($50 design fee)

Multi-Ad Discount
Place any combination of ads in 3 or more books and get a 10% discount on your total! Advertise in 10 or more books and get a 20% discount.



Popular posts from this blog

PREVIEW: 'Tet' #4 by Paul Allor and Paul Tucker

We've seen Eugene's story. But during his last day's in Vietnam, he finally learns how Ha survived the war. She's always been much stronger than him; and much stronger than he's given her credit for. With all their secrets gone, Ha and Eugene must decide how to move forward.

REVIEW: 'Cyber Force' #3 by Bryan Hill, Matt Hawkins, and Atilio Rojo

The story of Aphrodite is the focus of 'Cyber Force' #3. This compelling chapter continues to build the new world of Top Cow's reimagined original title. Corporate greed leads to murder and coercion until one doctor's obsession results in a powerful revelation.


CYBER FORCE #3 
Writer: Matt Hawkins, Bryan Hill Artist: Atilio Rojo Letterer: Troy Peteri Editor: Elena Salcedo Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: May 30, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★1/2 (4.5/5)
Marc Silvestri released 'Cyber Force' twenty-six years ago and this second reboot of the former flagship series rests in the hands of writers Bryan Hill and Matt Hawkins. It was only a matter of time before we'd get the whereabouts of the sentient android Aphrodite. Hill and Hawkins dedicate this issue to her story, and it's probably the best in the series so far. We get very little Carin and Morgan in order to give what is essentially an unnerving scientific horror story. 
Cyber Data is the or…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

PREVIEW: 'Hack/Slash vs. Vampirella: The Heart Is A Lonely Killer' TPB by Shawn Aldridge and Rapha Lobosco

The Vegas strip heats up as Cassie Hack and her companion Vlad are on the trail of a deadly slasher and meet the lovely, yet lethal Vampirella. The team-up event you’ve been waiting for is a high stakes game of chance when they have to take on The Queen of Hearts!


This Volume collects the complete, 5-issue series by Shawn Aldridge (The Dark and Bloody) and Rapha Labosco (James Bond), and features all of the covers by Jenny Frison, Carli Ihde, Jen Vaughn, Kyle Strahm, Chrissie Zullo, Goran Sudzuka, Michael Dooney, Bully Tucci, and more!

Hack/Slash vs. Vampirella: The Heart Is A Lonely Killer TP
writer: Shawn Aldridge artist: Rapha Lobosco cover: Jenny Frison FC  |  136 pages  |  $19.99  |  Teen+  
COLLECTING ISSUES 1-5












PREVIEW: 'The Ghost, The Owl' Hardcover by Franco and Sara Richard

On a cool evening on the swamp, a figure appears dancing across the water. A human figure, but far from a human form. A Ghost, a young girl spirit that seems to have lost its way. A good Samaritan owl decides to help against the wishes of his animal brethren.


What mysteries does the ghost girl hold the secrets to and what will happen when she and the owl unlock them together?  Will they find out what happened to her? Will she find her way to where she needs to be?  What will happen to the animals in the swamp and surrounding forest? An adventure with the most unlikely of pairs, the Ghost, the Owl.

THE GHOST, THE OWL HC
In stores on 5/2/2018 Writer(s): Franco Artist Name(s): Sara Richard Cover Artist(s): Sara Richard
48 pgs./ A / FC                   $9.99