Skip to main content

Rylend Grant’s Action Lab Comic Book 'Aberrant' Headed to Television

Action Lab Entertainment’s Aberrant, a new high-octane action comic book series from screenwriter Rylend Grant – featuring art from Zsombor Huzska, Davi Leon Dias, Iwan Joko Triyono, and HdE – will be developed for television by 24 and Felicity producer Tony Krantz via his Flame Ventures banner.

Press Release

Grant, a two-time blacklister, will write the script and executive produces alongside Krantz. Ryan Colucci and Rising Spirit Films – who financed the comic – will also be involved. Grant has of late penned screenplays for Justin Lin and F. Gary Gray. Krantz most recently produced NBC’s Dracula and Blood & Oil for ABC. His latest TV endeavor, Wu Assassins, will premiere on Netflix next year.

Aberrant follows David Colbrenner, a U.S. Army Special Operations Commander, who after losing his entire unit to a superhuman attack, wages an absolutely brutal one-man war on the eccentric billionaire and former superhero, Lance Cordrey, whom he believes is ultimately responsible. That is until Nelson Little, the head of a clandestine paramilitary outfit called Article 13, provides David with evidence that Cordrey may be a patsy, and David’s men were killed as part of a vast and twisted government/military conspiracy.

Grant describes Aberrant as a modern political/conspiracy thriller in the vein of Michael Clayton or Enemy of the State that explores how the United States’ military and geopolitical agenda would necessarily change if superpowered individuals (the “Aberrant”) walked among us. He likes to refer to his book as the karmic cousin of groundbreaking 70’s mind benders like The Conversation and Marathon Man.

Aberrant is a military-slanted Three Days of the Condor,” says Grant, referring to the 1975 Sydney Pollock-helmed paranoid spy picture. “You know… if there was a snarling superpowered badass waiting around every corner, hell-bent on stomping a mudhole in Robert Redford.”

When asked about the prospect of working with Krantz, Grant smiled. “Tony is one of the smartest people working in Hollywood today. He and Flame executive JohnEric Capps have shown a uniquely genuine passion and enthusiasm for the book. I honestly couldn’t be more excited.”

Interestingly, Aberrant was perhaps the last major comic series created inside Los Angeles pop culture bastion Meltdown Comics. The geekdom landmark sadly just announced it would be closing its doors after 25 trendsetting years.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Fitness Women in Superhero Body Paint by J.M. Manion

J.M. Manion has long been a successful photographer covering the fitness and bodybuilding industry. He has photographed some of the strongest, well-defined physiques on the planet. He's also had a love of super-heroes and comic books. So much so that Manion began publishing his own comic book, Iron Siren Comics, featuring some of the fitness competitors he's covered as superheroes themselves. It's no wonder he sometimes incorporates superhero cosplay and body paint into photo shoots. Here are just some examples of his work:

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

Eliza Dushku Stars in Sci-Fi Short 'The Gable 5'

Kevin Tancharoen, the filmmaker that created the popular webseries, Mortal Kombat: Legacy, has returned to Machinima with his latest short film entitled The Gable 5 starring one of Joss Whedon's favorite action heroines, Eliza Dushku. The ties to the Whedon-verse are well intact as Tancharoen's brother-in-law is Jed Whedon, who co-produces along with wife Maurissa, the super spy drama Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.LD. on ABC. Dushku once again shows off her killer moves in this dark and action-packed sci-fi short film.

PREVIEW: 'PUNK MAMBO' #4 (of 5) by CULLEN BUNN, ADAM GORHAM and JOSÉ VILLARRUBIA

Punk Mambo faces off against a sinister sorcerer!


What does Azaire want with the loa he’s collected?
Mambo reaches deep into her bag of tricks to level the playing field. Sex magic may or may not be involved. But voodoo dolls definitely are.
PUNK MAMBO #4 (of 5)
Written by CULLEN BUNN Art by ADAM GORHAM Colors by JOSÉ VILLARRUBIA Letters by DAVE SHARPE Cover A by DAN BRERETON Cover B by DAVID MACK Cover C by CRIS DELARA Pre-Order Edition by ADAM GORHAM
$3.99 | 32 pgs. | T+ | On sale JULY 31st









VIDEO: Happy Father's Day, Walter White!

Just in time for Father's Day, Screen Junkies in association with the online men's magazine, Made Men, are celebrating TV dads and they got R.J. Mitte who played Walt Jr. to Bryan Cranston's Walter White, the school teacher turned meth kingpin on AMC's Breaking Bad, to reminisce about what made Big Walt a great dad. Maybe he wasn't so bad after all.