Skip to main content

'Seduction of the Innocent,' Crime Fiction Series by Ande Parks and Esteve Polls Out This December


Dynamite Entertainment is proud to announce that Ande Parks and Esteve Polls, the acclaimed creative team of The Death of Zorro and The Lone Ranger, will reunite for an all-new comic book series, Seduction of the Innocent. Gritty and sometimes depraved crime fiction in the tradition of James Elroy and EC-era crime and horror comics, the series will debut in December 2015 with cover artwork by Eisner Award-winning artist Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie).

Set in the San Francisco of 1953, Seduction of the Innocent introduces Thomas Jennings, an FBI agent who has just arrived in the city, fresh-faced and ready to tackle crime in the big city… or so he thinks. In fact, Jennings is not nearly prepared for what he's about to encounter. The city's crime lords are being systematically murdered, and the killers waiting to fill the void are the pure stuff of Jennings' nightmares. Jennings will be forced to question every belief he holds dear to protect his wife and unborn child from the madness.

Writer Ande Parks says, "The story is, at its core, about loss of innocence. It's about seduction, but not sexual seduction. It's about the seduction of violence and power. It's about a good man struggling to hold onto the values that have always defined him as he battles things so evil that he can't really comprehend them. This is not a story that clings to the status quo. People change in the course of our arc. They die and lose things that can never be recovered."
 
"I love period crime fiction, enshrouded in fog and bad intention," adds Parks. "Our story is told in a modern style, but it is rooted in crime fiction of the past: Jim Thompson and the True Crime comics of the fifties. We were lucky enough to get Francesco Francavilla to do covers that pay homage to the amazing Johnny Craig EC covers, with severed heads, bloody axes, and so on -- all the glorious stuff that got Dr. Fredric Wertham in an uproar. Also, I get to work with Esteve Polls again, with whom I did a 25-issue run on The Long Ranger that I'm very proud of. He's great at atmosphere, and our crime story has plenty for him to draw."

Regarding the setting, Parks says, "Throughout the series, we try to use San Francisco's most interesting and iconic features as set pieces. The Wharf, the Japanese Tea Garden, Chinatown, the Redwood Forest, etc. I didn't get us to Alcatraz… maybe down the line somewhere. Anyway, I love the city, and I think it's full of unique settings for our characters to move around -- and kill each other -- in."


Seduction of the Innocent #1 will be solicited for release in December in Diamond Comic Distributors' October Previews catalog, the premiere source of merchandise for the comic book specialty market. Comic book fans are encouraged to reserve copies of Seduction of the Innocent with their local comic book retailers. Seduction of the Innocent will also be available for individual customer purchase through digital platforms courtesy of Comixology, Dynamite Digital, iVerse, and Dark Horse Digital. Fans and retailers are encouraged to follow Dynamite Entertainment's official social media channels for the latest updates regarding project development.






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

DC Comics March Movie Poster Variant Covers are Fantastic

DC Comics may have outdone themselves with their running themed variant covers for the month of March 2015. After some fun and gorgeous variants in 2014 like Darwin Cooke (December), LEGO (November), and Bombshells (June) to name a few DC Comics is continuing to bring some creative covers in 2015. January will feature Flash throughout the company line in celebration of his 75th Anniversary, February will bring everyone’s favorite wild card, Harley Quinn, on DC covers, and perhaps the best mash-ups of comics and famous movie posters will arrive in March.

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

Fitness Women in Superhero Body Paint by J.M. Manion

J.M. Manion has long been a successful photographer covering the fitness and bodybuilding industry. He has photographed some of the strongest, well-defined physiques on the planet. He's also had a love of super-heroes and comic books. So much so that Manion began publishing his own comic book, Iron Siren Comics, featuring some of the fitness competitors he's covered as superheroes themselves. It's no wonder he sometimes incorporates superhero cosplay and body paint into photo shoots. Here are just some examples of his work:

REVIEW: 'Wasted Space' #6 by Michael Moreci, Hayden Sherman, and Jason Wordie

Now officially an ongoing! The whole fam damily is back! Billy visits a crooked politician. Dust and Fury make sweet bot-love in unsanitary locations. A ghost haunts Molly's visions of Rex. And Legion pets a dog. The galaxy is still totally borked, but maybe together they can un-bork it... oh, probably not.

WASTED SPACE #6
Writer: Michael Moreci Artist: Hayden Sherman, Jason Wordie Letterer: Jim Campbell Publisher: Vault Comics Release Date: February 6, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★1/2 (4.5/5)
The second arc of Vault Comics' exceptional space opera "Wasted Space" blasts off in satisfying fashion when the gang crosses the galaxy to have a heart-to-heart with a one-percenter while Legion and the Creator contemplate the usefulness or lack thereof of humanity. It's another stellar chapter from Michael Moreci, Hayden Sherman, and Jason Wordie. 
'Wasted Space' has carved out a unique place for itself as more than just a sci-fi comic. It's one of the mo…

The Wonderful Women of Dynamite and Archie Join Forces in 'Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica'

Dynamite Entertainment announces the most unexpected and exciting crossover of the year...Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica!


Dynamite's first ever crossover with Archie Comics could not be any bigger. The flagship Women of Dynamite come face to face with Riverdale's leading ladies to solve a string of paranormal, unsolved murders. When Drakulon and Hyrkania drop off their famous vampire hunter and sword-wielding barbarian into the small, sleepy town something is surely afoot.


Amy Chu (Red Sonja, KISS: The End, Poison Ivy) returns to the fiery-haired She-Devil to write even more of a fish out of water tale than her fan-favorite Worlds Away arc. Joining her on the art side is Maria Laura Sanapo (DC Comics Bombshells, Charmed) who just drew the Vampirella Valentine's Day Special. Together these two women will chronicle the incomparable charm of their four leading ladies.


Both Dynamite and Archie have had great crossovers with the biggest publishers in the indus…