Skip to main content

Action Lab Announces New Books for 2017


For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary-pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike.

Established series Princeless will return with a Spanish language translation in January, along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and Zombie Tramp creator Dan Mendoza's new ongoing monthly series, DollFace.



A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DollFace centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DollFace, which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue.

In February, multiple Eisner award winning creator Franco (Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy) brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!



A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), Peach and the Isle of Monsters is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined in a blockbuster series called Infinite Seven.



This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. Infinite Seven builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks. 

March brings the debut of Amerikarate, a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in Infinite Seven.



Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, Amerikarate celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob's Burger's lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

March also brings the return of Katie Carva in the bad-girl comic with a twist, Vampblade Season Two! 

Jason Martin's hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from Vampblade Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here. 


Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series Action Lab: Dog of Wonder, Peter David's Artful, Athena Voltaire, Hero Cats and ZAG Entertainment's Miraculous will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic Blue Hour rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series Brigands, Cougar and Cub, The Circle, Tomboy and Zombie Tramp will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

"This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab," said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. "We've positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!"

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

PREVIEW: 'Tet' #4 by Paul Allor and Paul Tucker

We've seen Eugene's story. But during his last day's in Vietnam, he finally learns how Ha survived the war. She's always been much stronger than him; and much stronger than he's given her credit for. With all their secrets gone, Ha and Eugene must decide how to move forward.

REVIEW: 'Cyber Force' #3 by Bryan Hill, Matt Hawkins, and Atilio Rojo

The story of Aphrodite is the focus of 'Cyber Force' #3. This compelling chapter continues to build the new world of Top Cow's reimagined original title. Corporate greed leads to murder and coercion until one doctor's obsession results in a powerful revelation.


CYBER FORCE #3 
Writer: Matt Hawkins, Bryan Hill Artist: Atilio Rojo Letterer: Troy Peteri Editor: Elena Salcedo Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: May 30, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★1/2 (4.5/5)
Marc Silvestri released 'Cyber Force' twenty-six years ago and this second reboot of the former flagship series rests in the hands of writers Bryan Hill and Matt Hawkins. It was only a matter of time before we'd get the whereabouts of the sentient android Aphrodite. Hill and Hawkins dedicate this issue to her story, and it's probably the best in the series so far. We get very little Carin and Morgan in order to give what is essentially an unnerving scientific horror story. 
Cyber Data is the or…

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

PREVIEW: 'Hack/Slash vs. Vampirella: The Heart Is A Lonely Killer' TPB by Shawn Aldridge and Rapha Lobosco

The Vegas strip heats up as Cassie Hack and her companion Vlad are on the trail of a deadly slasher and meet the lovely, yet lethal Vampirella. The team-up event you’ve been waiting for is a high stakes game of chance when they have to take on The Queen of Hearts!


This Volume collects the complete, 5-issue series by Shawn Aldridge (The Dark and Bloody) and Rapha Labosco (James Bond), and features all of the covers by Jenny Frison, Carli Ihde, Jen Vaughn, Kyle Strahm, Chrissie Zullo, Goran Sudzuka, Michael Dooney, Bully Tucci, and more!

Hack/Slash vs. Vampirella: The Heart Is A Lonely Killer TP
writer: Shawn Aldridge artist: Rapha Lobosco cover: Jenny Frison FC  |  136 pages  |  $19.99  |  Teen+  
COLLECTING ISSUES 1-5












PREVIEW: 'The Ghost, The Owl' Hardcover by Franco and Sara Richard

On a cool evening on the swamp, a figure appears dancing across the water. A human figure, but far from a human form. A Ghost, a young girl spirit that seems to have lost its way. A good Samaritan owl decides to help against the wishes of his animal brethren.


What mysteries does the ghost girl hold the secrets to and what will happen when she and the owl unlock them together?  Will they find out what happened to her? Will she find her way to where she needs to be?  What will happen to the animals in the swamp and surrounding forest? An adventure with the most unlikely of pairs, the Ghost, the Owl.

THE GHOST, THE OWL HC
In stores on 5/2/2018 Writer(s): Franco Artist Name(s): Sara Richard Cover Artist(s): Sara Richard
48 pgs./ A / FC                   $9.99