Skip to main content

Action Lab Announces New Books for 2017


For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary-pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike.

Established series Princeless will return with a Spanish language translation in January, along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and Zombie Tramp creator Dan Mendoza's new ongoing monthly series, DollFace.



A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DollFace centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DollFace, which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue.

In February, multiple Eisner award winning creator Franco (Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy) brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!



A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), Peach and the Isle of Monsters is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined in a blockbuster series called Infinite Seven.



This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. Infinite Seven builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks. 

March brings the debut of Amerikarate, a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in Infinite Seven.



Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, Amerikarate celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob's Burger's lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

March also brings the return of Katie Carva in the bad-girl comic with a twist, Vampblade Season Two! 

Jason Martin's hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from Vampblade Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here. 


Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series Action Lab: Dog of Wonder, Peter David's Artful, Athena Voltaire, Hero Cats and ZAG Entertainment's Miraculous will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic Blue Hour rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series Brigands, Cougar and Cub, The Circle, Tomboy and Zombie Tramp will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

"This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab," said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. "We've positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!"

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

DC Comics March Movie Poster Variant Covers are Fantastic

DC Comics may have outdone themselves with their running themed variant covers for the month of March 2015. After some fun and gorgeous variants in 2014 like Darwin Cooke (December), LEGO (November), and Bombshells (June) to name a few DC Comics is continuing to bring some creative covers in 2015. January will feature Flash throughout the company line in celebration of his 75th Anniversary, February will bring everyone’s favorite wild card, Harley Quinn, on DC covers, and perhaps the best mash-ups of comics and famous movie posters will arrive in March.

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

Chuck Palahniuk and Cameron Stewart Return for FIGHT CLUB 3

FIGHT CLUB 3 asks, “What's the first rule of fatherhood?”


Bestselling novelist Chuck Palahniuk, Eisner Award-winning artist Cameron Stewart, letterer Nate Piekos of Blambot, colorist Dave McCaig and acclaimed cover artist David Mack will collaborate on the follow-up to the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling graphic novel FIGHT CLUB 2. In the 12 part monthly comic book maxi-series FIGHT CLUB 3, Marla Singer is about to deliver her second child, but the daddy isn’t her husband—it's Tyler Durden, who’s very invested in his heir, and the world he’ll inherit.


Marla, her first son, and her husband—the unnamed narrator in the novel, who now goes by Balthazar—live in a run-down motel in a sketchy neighborhood. In the FIGHT CLUB 2 graphic novel Tyler transformed Project Mayhem into Rize or Die. Now, a new group has implemented a ruthless and deviant plan to fine-tune mankind, leading Balthazar to forge an unlikely alliance … with Tyler Durden.


“FIGHT CLUB 3 is about what happens when you need …

REVIEW: 'Death or Glory' #2 by Rick Remender and Bengal

After a raucous debut, 'Death and Glory' takes a weird turn. Like a really weird turn. Imagine David Lynch and Quentin Tarantino had a baby and out came out issue two of this new series from Rick Remender and Bengal. The question is is that a good or bad thing?


DEATH OR GLORY #2  
Writer: Rick Remender Artist: Bengal Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: June 6, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
With a botched heist job, a bullet in her side, and all her money gone, Glory wrestles with what to do next. The cargo her ex-husband was trafficking wasn't drugs but people and after putting them all safely on a bus to Arizona, she's broke and being attended to by one of the Brazilians that stayed behind. Her scheme was pretty straight-forward - rob the money that the dirty sheriff was going to transport and use it for her dad's surgery. Easy peasy. Then it all went to hell as the sheriff recognized her, she dropped the money, and now no one is happy, not the sheri…

The Feminist Vigilantes of MTV's 'Sweet/Vicious' Come to Comics at Black Mask Studios

Women Vigilantes Get Justice For Sexual Assault Survivors In Upcoming Comic Book That Continues The Edgy MTV Series


Premiering one-week after the 2016 Presidential Election, SWEET/VICIOUS was one of the first new TV shows of the Trump Era: an edgy and provocative tale of two young women becoming vigilantes to combat sexual assaults on their college campus. As grimly relevant today as it was two years ago, SWEET/VICIOUS will continue the story of feminist vigilantes Jules and Ophelia with a comic book series written by show-creator Jennifer Kaytin Robinson, coming in 2019 from Black Mask Studios. 

The SWEET/VICIOUS comic will be a continuation of the story started in season one of the series. After Jules was raped and her University did nothing to help her, she takes matters into her own hands becoming a vigilante who seeks justice for survivors of sexual assault and other abuse at her school. When the campus weed dealer and all-around troublemaker Ophelia Mayer finds out about Jules&#…