Skip to main content

ALTERNA COMICS: Newsprint Makes a Comeback as Initial Print Runs Sell Out



AMAZING AGE #1, ADAM WRECK #1, CROAK #1, AND LILITH DARK #1 have all sold out at the distributor level before even hitting store shelves.  Despite ordering a 25% larger print run, a surge in demand for the debut titles of Alterna's newsprint line (sporting cover prices of $1.50 each) have yielded sold out print runs across the board.

Alterna will be going back to press pending demand from retailers once the books hit shelves on May 3rd.

Alterna also has four other titles currently in Diamond's April Previews catalog, for release in June.  MOTHER RUSSIA #1, TRESPASSER #1, and SCRIMSHAW #1 will all sport $1.50 cover prices -- and THE CHAIR #1 will be priced at $1.00.  These titles will all be printed on newsprint with a semi-gloss cover stock and most will be in full color.  With the exception of the SCRIMSHAW series, all other titles are a mini-series of 3 to 5 issues.

Only On comiXology:



THE FEAR DIARIES #2
$1.99; Digital Comic Book; All Ages
(W) Garrett Gunn
(A) Nicolas Touris
(L) HdE

When we are young, our parents tell us that there is nothing that goes bump in the night. The terrifying monsters that live in our bedrooms are apparently just "figments of our imagination." Our eyes playing tricks on us. They tell us that the Boogeyman doesn't exist. That there is nothing under our beds or lurking in the shadows of our closets. There's only one problem. They Lied.

THE FEAR DIARIES #2 only on comiXology >>


Pre-Order @ Your Local Comic Shop >>



MOTHER RUSSIA #1 of 3 - (W/A) Jeff McComsey
Great for fans of Resident Evil, Enemy at the Gates, 28 Days Later

One baby. One rifle. Two million zombies! As a zombie apocalypse breaks out in WWII, a Soviet sniper risks her life to protect an innocent baby boy. Created by New York Times-bestselling author and artist Jeff McComsey. Now on newsprint!

($1.50; 32pgs; BW; APR171234; June 14th)
This is the divider 



SCRIMSHAW #1 - (W) Eric Borden (A) Dave Mims (L) Spike O'Laochdha
Great for fans of X-Men, Rat Queens, Suicide Squad

With the planet ravaged by war, ruthless corporations have the world's governments in their pockets. Faced with impossible odds, Captain Hans Tanaka and the rest of the crew of the Runaway Horse have been branded as pirates, cut-throats, mercs... and the good guys! Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR171235; June 28th)



THE CHAIR #1 of 4 - (W/L) Peter Simeti (A) Kevin Christensen
Great for fans of Arkham Asylum, Memento, Shutter Island

Richard Sullivan has spent ten years on death row for a crime he claims he never committed. But lately, inmates are being brutally murdered by the Warden and his guards. Will Sullivan escape before it's too late? Now a motion picture starring the legendary Roddy Piper. Printed on newsprint! 

($1.50; 32 pgs; BW; APR171236; June 21st)



TRESPASSER #1 of 4 - (W) Justin M. Ryan (A) Kristian Rossi (L) DC Hopkins
Great for fans of The Walking Dead, The X-Files, The Road

After a devastating war ruins the air and food supply for most of the world, Hector and his daughter Maria struggle to survive. But when a strange visitor crash lands in the forest, Hector will go to unspeakable lengths to protect his child. Printed on newsprint!

($1.50; 32 pgs; Full Color; APR1712537; June 7th)



Print this Form and Take it to Your Local Comic Shop! >>


Advertise in Alterna's Newsprint Line!

Advertise in Newsprint Comics for as low as $16 >>

**Currently looking for advertisers for August and onward**

Download Ad Templates Here!
1/4 page - $20 BW/$25 Full Color
1/3 page - $40 BW/$50 Full Color
1/2 page - $60 BW/$75 Full Color
Full page - $80 BW/$100 Full Color
Inside Back Cover - $125 Full Color
Inside Front Cover - $150 Full Color
Back Cover - $200 Full Color

Ad Creation Services
Need help creating your ad? Let us know what you'd like on it (text and imagery) and we'll create it for you! ($50 design fee)

Multi-Ad Discount
Place any combination of ads in 3 or more books and get a 10% discount on your total! Advertise in 10 or more books and get a 20% discount.



Popular posts from this blog

REVIEW: 'Redneck' #2 by Donny Cates, Lisandro Estherren, and Dee Cunniffe

'Redneck' arrived a month ago redefining the vampire genre by not giving into convention or cliché. In fact, if you've read the first two issues, the vampire angle serves more as subtext than its selling point. It's the perfect approach to this character-driven southern fried drama that simmers with tension and intrigue.

REDNECK #2 STORY: DONNY CATES
ART/COVER: LISANDRO ESTHERREN & DEE CUNNIFFE LETTERER: JOE SABINO
RELEASE DATE: MAY 24
32 PAGES | Full Color | Mature | $3.99
★★★★☆ (4/5)
The Bowman's way of life just got upended and what was once a peaceful and secluded existence is on the verge of war. The vampires of Texas keep to themselves, raise their cattle, drink its blood and sell the meat through their BBQ joint. Seems like a brilliant front to keep them in the shadows while staking out a living. All that is threatened when one of their own is killed after a night on the town. This issues fills in the holes to what might have happened and what the hell is…

PREVIEW: 'Tet' #4 by Paul Allor and Paul Tucker

We've seen Eugene's story. But during his last day's in Vietnam, he finally learns how Ha survived the war. She's always been much stronger than him; and much stronger than he's given her credit for. With all their secrets gone, Ha and Eugene must decide how to move forward.

WONDER WOMAN OF THE DAY: Fitness Model Gia Macool Embodies the Amazon Princess

The closest we'll ever get, probably, to superheroes in real life is through the great work of cosplayers. You see them at every pop culture convention from the very basic to extremely elaborate costume design. However, you don't have to be a cosplayer to enjoy dressing up as your favorite superhero from time to time. Take fitness model and entrepreneur Gia Macool for example. An accomplished fitness competitor and model, Macool is also a big fan of DC Comics' Wonder Woman. She shows her love of the iconic Amazon Princess in her fitness wear, meal prep accessories and even a full blown photo shoot in a Wonder Woman costume. 

For decades comics have featured very muscular superheroes, male and female, epitomizing the human form at its strongest. So when bodybuilders and fitness pros decide to suit up as these costumed heroes, they are the embodiment of those fictional characters in the flesh. Macool looks like she stepped out of the pages of a Wonder Woman comic with a suit …

PREVIEW: 'Project Superpowers' #1 by Rob Williams and Sergio Davila

The Project Superpowers heroes came from the past, now they have to prove their relevance in the modern world. A 21st Century threat is coming for us all. What dread secrets does The Death Defying Devil hold? The Lighthouse will rise and the Spirit of The American Flag will take on a new host. But will it be enough? Can superheroes still save the day?


Project Superpowers #1
writer: Rob Williams artist: Sergio Davila covers: Francesco Mattina (A), Ed Benes (B), John Royle (C)               Philip Tan (D), JG Jones (E) Stephen Segovia (F)               Sergio Davila (G), Philip Tan (RI-B/W)               J.G. Jones (RI-Sepia), Ed Benes (RI-Virgin)               Francesco Mattina (RI-Virgin)
FC  |  32 pages  |  $3.99  |   Teen+  












REVIEW: 'Death or Glory' #2 by Rick Remender and Bengal

After a raucous debut, 'Death and Glory' takes a weird turn. Like a really weird turn. Imagine David Lynch and Quentin Tarantino had a baby and out came out issue two of this new series from Rick Remender and Bengal. The question is is that a good or bad thing?


DEATH OR GLORY #2  
Writer: Rick Remender Artist: Bengal Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: June 6, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99
Score: ★★★★☆ (4/5)
With a botched heist job, a bullet in her side, and all her money gone, Glory wrestles with what to do next. The cargo her ex-husband was trafficking wasn't drugs but people and after putting them all safely on a bus to Arizona, she's broke and being attended to by one of the Brazilians that stayed behind. Her scheme was pretty straight-forward - rob the money that the dirty sheriff was going to transport and use it for her dad's surgery. Easy peasy. Then it all went to hell as the sheriff recognized her, she dropped the money, and now no one is happy, not the sheri…