Skip to main content

Featured

REVIEW: 'Home Sick Pilots' #2 by Dan Watters, Caspar Wijngaard, and Aditya Bidikar

The Old James House has lost its ghosts. With her new powers, it's up to Ami to bring them back...whether they want to come home or not. Even when they're really big ghosts wrapped in metal, with lots of sharp edges and things. HOME SICK PILOTS #2 Writer: Dan Watters Artist: Caspar Wijngaard Letterer: Aditya Bidikar  Designer: Tom Muller Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: January 13, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Score:  ★★★☆☆ (3/5) A powered-up ghostified Ami has been compelled to find the ghosts of The Old James House in the form of an enchanted horseshoe. Its current bearer isn't going to give it up so easily. Meanwhile, Ami's friends Buzz and Rip are left looking for answers about her whereabouts back at the house. The second issue of Home Sick Pilots from Dan Watters and Caspar Wijngaard takes a surprising turn as it defies the expectations of a haunted house story established in its debut. Issue one was a stellar debut that had a lot of energy from its young protago

Gritty Action Thriller 'Gunning for Ramirez' by Nicolas Petrimaux Gets English Translation This September

Image Comics invites readers on an action-packed new thrill ride in the forthcoming Gunning for Ramirez original graphic novel by Nicolas Petrimaux. It will be available in English for the first time this September. 

The breakout hit was originally published in Europe from Glénat to great critical acclaim
Already an international breakout hit, Gunning for Ramirez was originally published by Glénat to great fan and critical acclaim. It has won an Angoulême Award for best publication 2018 (category youth 15/17), Canal BD Award for best publication 2018 (retailers awards), and Best Series BD Gest Award 2018 (press awards). 

What if the deadliest assassin in all of Mexico, a man with dozens of kills to his name, was actually a vacuum repairman in Arizona?

Set in Falcon City, Arizona, Gunning for Ramirez follows Jacques Ramirez, a man who works at Robotop, the leading home appliance company in the Southwest United States. Jacques is efficient, thorough, and discreet. That last one is easy: he's also mute. But everything changes when two members of one of Paso del Rio's largest drug cartels stumble upon Jacques and believe him to be the deadly hitman who betrayed them in the past: the ruthless Ramirez. 

Could it be that the cartel's legendary clean-up man is really a legendary vacuum cleaner expert? Now that they've found him, the men of the cartel will do everything they can to kill this traitor.

Petrimaux’s Gunning for Ramirez presents a tribute to the action thrillers of the 1980s and ’90s—a brutal narrative with never a dull moment. This story is perfect for fans of Friedkin's To Live and Die in L.A., Tarantino's Pulp Fiction, or Rodriguez's Mexico Trilogy.

Gunning for Ramirez (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1697-3) will be available on Wednesday, September 30, and in bookstores on Tuesday, October 6. It can be pre-ordered at your local comic book shop or independent bookstore via Bookshop or Indiebound or it can be pre-ordered on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, and Indigo. 

Gunning for Ramirez will also be available for purchase across many digital platforms, including Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play.





Comments